Braised Brussels Sprouts

Simplicity itself, this side dish, and oh so delicioso.

In my case, with a hunk of good bread and a bit of gooey cheese, this was lunch. Oh, it is with a pathetic yearning that I recall this meal: Ivy and her dad (those crucifer haters) were away that afternoon; the house was tidy-ish; the Saturday paper was pregnant with fluff and puzzles and I strolled to the grocery store with the virtuous posture of the recently yogafied and nothing but sprouts on my mind. Happiness.

15 minutes. Serves four normal people.

Rinse and trim the stem ends of a dozen Brussels sprouts and remove any loose leaves. Halve them and put them in a large pan or wok. Add water so that they are less than half covered (about 1/2 a cup) and a scant tablespoon of butter. Set them over medium-high heat and leave to simmer. When the water is almost all evaporated, test a sprout with the tip of a sharp knife, and add a bit more water if needed. When the water has done its job the butter is left to brown and glaze. Keep an eye on them and toss them around a bit. Some toasted sliced almonds would have been beautiful here, but I was far to gluttonous and impatient for such niceties.

4 Responses

  1. All this great food!!!! ..can I move in?…just kidding, your Aunt 🙂

    • I’m so glad you like it! Come for dinner anytime.

  2. I love Brussels sprouts and so many people don’t. I love your recipe. I still can’t imagine getting a kid to eat them though.:)

    • I didn’t even try. She claims an allergy to green food. “Dear future Ivy, small and weak. See? Love Mama.”

Leave a Reply

